The Quick List of Technology Ideas!

Here is a quick list of 5 ideas to help you get started thinking about how we can work together.  Consider trying something that may take you out of your comfort zone, since you can rest assured that I will be there to help!! 

  1. Give me a unit you are studying, and I will help you think of things to do to support it with technology!  Make sure to give me at least a week–it’s best to contact me about the unit before you start teaching it. 
  2. Consider having your class, or a small group from your class, work on a podcast with me.  I will provide the planning worksheets and do the technical aspects of recording and editing–all you have to do is set aside a time for your students to write.  A podcast can be about any topic!  
  3. Set up the computers in your classroom as technology “stations.”  Allow students to record book reviews, collect data, or answer blog questions whenever they are finished with an assignment.  I’ll be happy to help you come up with ideas that go with your current unit of study, and teach your kids how to work in a station independently (grades 2-5).
  4. Attend a technology inservice.  Work with me to implement the ideas/ skills you learned in your classroom. 
  5. After studying a unit, have students create a project using technology (or with the option to use technology) as a cumulative activity.  You might also consider combining units across subject areas for the project.  I can assist with ideas, but here are few to get you thinking–Photostory or Movie Maker movie (pictures, sounds, words), Slide show presentations, desktop publications (brochures, newspapers, etc.), simple webpages, or a commercials.  This is a great way to “spice up” a unit.

All of these ideas will take time for me to put together, so please plan ahead.  As always, I’ll be more than happy to help you brainstorm through email or face to face in a meeting, whatever your schedule allows.  Just contact me! 

Leave a Reply