Google Earth Lesson Plans

passportcover.jpgHere’s another great resource from the VSTE conference: It’s a Small World After All…Integrating Google Earth into the Virginia Standards of Learning. Sarah Walters, an ITRT from Loudoun County, has put together a nice collection of lesson plans and files to use with Google Earth. My favorites that I’ve seen so far is the Passport for a Virginia Traveler that goes along with the regions of Virginia (4th Grade Virginia Studies). There are also files that go along with the books How to Make an Apple Pie by Marjorie Priceman and Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey, activities for migration, and even a Google Earth file for Ponce De Leon’s Voyage. Thanks, Sarah, for sharing all these great ideas!!

Read 2 comments

  1. This is just what I was looking for last week. Through my network I found the Make Way for Ducklings example online. I’m going to try it this week. I’ll have to take a look at the presentation information. I’m just getting started using Google Earth as a tool in my classroom. Have you seen Kevin Jarrett’s blogpost? http://www.ncs-tech.org/?p=783 I downloaded the pro version and sent in my email. I like the idea of being able to capture movies of the trips for my students.

  2. Ann,
    Glad you were able to use some of Sarah’s lesson plans. I did check out Kevin’s post (thanks to a hint from Twitter), and it was very helpful!! I downloaded my free pro version of Google Earth. I’m so excited! Good luck with your students!

Leave a Reply